About the OWA

 

The Office of the Worker Adviser (OWA) is an independent agency of the Ontario Ministry of Labour. The OWA is not part of the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB) or the Ontario Labour Relations Board (OLRB).

The OWA was established in 1985, along with the Office of the Employer Adviser (OEA) and the Workplace Safety and Insurance Appeals Tribunal (WSIAT). The OWA's mandates are listed in the Workplace Safety and Insurance Act, 1997 and the Occupational Health and Safety Act.

The OWA provides free and confidential services (advice, education, and representation) in workplace insurance matters (formerly called workers’ compensation) and on occupational health and safety reprisal issues. The OWA has provided assistance with workplace insurance matters since 1985 and health and safety reprisals since April 2012.

The OWA provides workplace insurance services to non-unionized injured workers and their survivors. Occupational health and safety reprisal services are provided to non-unionized workers. The OWA delivers all of its services in English and French.

The OWA represents workers at the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB), the Workplace Safety and Insurance Tribunal (WSIAT) and the Ontario Labour Relations Board (OLRB). Alternative dispute resolution is used to resolve cases when possible. The OWA also provides self-help information for workers to handle their own claims or applications where appropriate.

The OWA develops community partnerships with other groups that assist injured workers or who promote health and safety in the workplace. The OWA also provides educational services in local communities on topics related to its mandates.

 

Director

The Director of the OWA is Alec Farquhar. He has over 30 years of experience with workplace health and safety and workers’ compensation issues.

He previously served as the Managing Director of the Occupational Health Clinics for Ontario Workers (OHCOW). In addition, he was previously Director of the Ministry of Labour’s Occupational Health and Safety Branch where he was responsible for the development of operational health and safety programs and partnerships.

 

Offices

The Office of the Worker Adviser has sixteen offices, located throughout Ontario. The head office is located in downtown Toronto at 123 Edward St., Suite 1300.  

The offices are divided into four regions:

​Toronto & Eastern Region

Toronto, Scarborough, Ottawa​

Central Region​

Downsview, Hamilton, Mississauga, St. Catharines​

Southwestern Region​

London, Sarnia (Satellite Office), Waterloo, Windsor​

Northern Region​

​Sault Ste. Marie, Sudbury, Thunder Bay, Timmins, Elliot Lake

 

The OWA also offers clinics in other communities at regular intervals.

If you would like more information about how you can get assistance from the OWA, please see Getting Help from the OWA. 

If you would like more information about your local OWA office, please see Contact Us or call the OWA at the phone numbers listed below. 

If you have a workplace insurance issue, you can contact the Office of the Worker Adviser by phoning toll free:

1-800-435-8980 (Service in English)
1-800-661-6365 (Service in French)

1-866-445-3092 (TTY)

If you have a health and safety reprisal issue, you can contact the Office of the Worker Adviser by phoning:

1-855-659-7744 (Toll Free)
416-212-5335 (Toronto)

À propos du BCT

 

Le Bureau des conseillers des travailleurs (BCT) est un organisme indépendant, qui est rattaché au ministère du Travail de l’Ontario. Le BCT ne fait pas partie de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT) ni de la Commission des relations de travail de l’Ontario (CRTO).

Le BCT a été créé en 1985, en même temps que le Bureau des conseillers des employeurs (BCE) et le Tribunal d’appel de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail (TASPAAT). Les missions du BCT figurent dans la Loi de 1997 sur la sécurité professionnelle et l’assurance contre les accidents du travail et la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail.

Le BCT fournit gratuitement et confidentiellement ses services (conseils, information et représentation) pour les questions touchant l’assurance contre les accidents de travail (anciennement appelé indemnisation des travailleurs) et les cas de représailles en matière de santé et sécurité au travail. Le BCT offre de l’assistance pour les questions touchant l’assurance contre les accidents de travail depuis 1985 ainsi que pour la lutte contre les représailles en matière de santé et sécurité au travail depuis avril 2012.

Le BCT fournit gratuitement et confidentiellement ses services aux personnes non syndiquées qui ont subi une blessure ou contracté une maladie au travail et à leurs survivants. De plus, une assistance est offerte aux travailleurs non syndiqués qui sont victimes de représailles en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail. Tous les services du BCT sont offerts en français et en anglais. 

Le BCT représente les travailleurs devant la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT), le Tribunal d’appel de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail (TASPAAT) et la Commission des relations de travail de l’Ontario (CRTO). Lorsque c’est possible, le BCT fait appel à un mécanisme de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends. Il fournit également aux travailleurs les renseignements dont ils ont besoin pour s’occuper eux-mêmes de leur réclamation ou requête, dans les cas appropriés.

Le BCT forme des partenariats communautaires avec d’autres groupes qui fournissent de l’assistance aux travailleurs blessés ou qui font la promotion de la santé et de la sécurité au travail. Il offre également des services d’information dans les collectivités locales sur des sujets liés à ses différentes missions.

 

La directrice

La directrice du BCT est Mme. Kathleen Therriault, qui possède plus de 20 ans d’expérience dans le domaine de la santé et la sécurité au travail et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail. 

 

Bureaux

Le BCT dispose de 16 bureaux situés aux quatre coins de l’Ontario. Le siège social se trouve au centre-ville de Toronto au 123, rue Edward, bureau 1300.

Il y a quatre bureaux chacun responsable d’une région.

Toronto et région de l’Est de l’Ontario

Toronto, Scarborough, Ottawa

Région du Centre

Downsview, Hamilton, Mississauga, St. Catharines

Région du Sud-Ouest

London, Sarnia (bureau satellite), Waterloo, Windsor

Région du Nord

Sault Ste. Marie, Sudbury, Thunder Bay, Timmins, Elliot Lake

De plus, le BCT offre périodiquement des consultations dans d’autres collectivités.

Si vous désirez obtenir plus d’information sur la façon d’obtenir de l’aide du BCT, consultez Comment obtenir l’aide du Bureau des conseillers des travailleurs.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur votre bureau local du BCT, consultez la section Comment nous joindre ou appelez au BCT à l’un des numéros de téléphone ci-dessous.

Si vous avez un problème touchant l’assurance contre les accidents de travail, vous pouvez communiquer avec le Bureau des conseillers des travailleurs sans frais en appelant aux numéros suivants.

1 800 661‑6365 (service en français)
1 800 435‑8980 (service en anglais)
1 866 445‑3092 (ATS)
 
Pour tout ce qui concerne des représailles en matière de santé et sécurité, vous pouvez appeler au Bureau des conseillers des travailleurs aux numéros suivants.
 
1 855 659‑7744 (sans frais)
416 212‑5335 (Toronto)