Appeal Time Limit Extensions: WSIAT

 

What Time Limits Apply?

Under the Workplace Safety and Insurance Act, the time limit to appeal a final decision of the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB) to the Workplace Safety and Insurance Appeals Tribunal (WSIAT) is six months. The final WSIB decision will usually be at the level of an Appeals Resolution Officer (ARO). For details, see Appeals at the WSIAT.

 

What If You Did Not Appeal on Time?

You must complete and return the Notice of Appeal (NOA) form to WSIAT as soon as possible. You can contact your nearest OWA office for a copy of this form or you may also obtain the NOA by phoning WSIAT directly at 1-888-618-8846.

You should send your completed NOA along with a copy of the decision you are appealing to WSIAT by fax or registered mail, ensuring you have proof of delivery in the form of a fax or mail receipt. Please remember to keep the fax confirmation slip or registered mail receipt for your own records. If you discover you have missed a time limit, you should seek help from a qualified representative as soon as possible. WSIAT has the power to extend time limits.

WSIAT will identify the time limit issue by sending you a letter stating that the NOA was received late and asking that a time extension application be filed with WSIAT within one month. In that application you should explain, in writing, your reason(s) for requesting a time limit extension. For general guidelines on preparing submissions, see Submissions.

 

What Will WSIAT Consider in a Time Extension Application?

In deciding whether to extend the time limit, WSIAT will consider the factors listed in the WSIAT Practice Direction called Time Extension Applications, including:

  • your explanation of why the Notice of Appeal was not filed on time.

  • whether there is evidence you filed the appeal at an earlier time. For example, you have a fax receipt or date-stamped letter that confirms you appealed on an earlier date.

  • whether there is any evidence you were trying to appeal before the six-month time limit ended. For example, perhaps you sent your NOA form to WSIB rather than WSIAT by mistake, or you tried to speak to a representative about making an appeal, or you called WSIAT for information, or anything else that indicates you were planning to appeal.

  • whether there are unusual circumstances and you did not know about the time limit (for example, you cannot read English). If you did not know about the time limit, you need to explain why. Since January 1, 1998, WSIB has displayed the time limit on the cover page of all final decisions; therefore you are expected to know about the time limit.

  • whether there are unusual circumstances that prevented you from meeting the time limit. This could be anything out of the ordinary that explains the delay. For example, a very serious illness or other family situation.

  • whether there were unusual delays or other WSIB matters that are relevant to the timing of the appeal. For example, a significant delay in receiving the final WSIB decision.

  • whether you requested that WSIB reconsider the decision you are appealing, in particular, any reconsideration requests made within six months of the original decision.

  • whether you made efforts to file the appeal on time.

  • whether the case is so old that it cannot be reasonably decided. An old case is one where a lot of time has passed and the memories of witnesses are fading. You need to show this is not the situation in your case.

  • whether the issue in the late appeal is so connected to another appeal (which is on time) that WSIAT cannot reasonably decide the other appeal without also looking at the late appeal.

  • whether a refusal to extend the appeal time limit would be very unfair, especially because of circumstances in your case. For example, perhaps you never had an in-person (oral) hearing or the ARO stopped you from presenting relevant evidence at your hearing. These could be valid reasons for extending the time limit in your appeal. Your problem with fairness should be specific to your case.

  • whether the delay, caused by you missing the time limit, will make it more difficult for your employer to argue its case than it otherwise would have been, had your appeal been made on time. If your employer is not participating in the appeal, you should point this out as it may mean the delay will not affect the employer's case.

Although you are not expected to use all the examples above, you should use all those that apply to your specific case.

 

Do You Need to Send Anything Else to WSIAT?

WSIAT does not order the WSIB file when reviewing time extension applications. When considering your application, the decision-maker will only have access to your submissions and anything else you sent to WSIAT. It is very important that you send any relevant evidence along with your submissions. This includes copies of any letters or other documents that support what you say.

 

What Happens Next?

WSIAT will send copies of your submissions and evidence to any other party involved in the appeal, usually the accident employer. The other party will then be given one month to provide their own submissions and evidence to WSIAT. WSIAT will send you a copy of the other party's submissions and evidence once they become available. All the material will then be placed before a Vice-Chair to decide. You will receive a written copy of the decision in the mail. If the decision is in your favour, you will be able to proceed with your appeal in the normal way.

 

What If WSIAT Does Not Extend the Time Limit?

If WSIAT denies the extension of time to appeal, you can request a reconsideration of that decision. Please note that WSIAT decision-makers rarely change a decision on reconsideration. You should only ask for a reconsideration if you have additional evidence that you think might be of value. For example, you should ask for a reconsideration if you suddenly found a fax transmission report showing you had faxed your NOA form on time. The additional evidence would have to be something very significant. If you are thinking about asking for a reconsideration, speak to a qualified representative as soon as possible.

 

February 2008

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

This publication contains general information only. It is not legal advice about a particular situation and is not intended to replace advice from a qualified representative. This publication was last updated on the revision date listed above.

Prolongation des délais au TASPAAT

 

​Quels sont les délais à respecter?

En vertu de la Loi de 1997 sur la sécurité professionnelle et l'assurance contre les accidents du travail, le délai imparti pour contester une décision définitive de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT) devant le Tribunal d'appel de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail (TASPAAT) est de six mois. La contestation d'une décision définitive de la CSPAAT est habituellement instruite par un commissaire aux appels. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter Appel au TASPAAT.

 

Que faire si vous n'avez pas interjeté appel dans le délai prescrit?

Vous devez remplir un Avis d'appel et le remettre au TASPAAT dès que possible. Il est possible d'obtenir une copie du formulaire auprès d'un bureau local du BCT ou en appelant directement le TASPAAT, au 1 888 618-8846.

Vous devez envoyer votre Avis d'appel dûment rempli, accompagné d'une copie de la décision qui fait l'objet de l'appel, au TASPAAT, par télécopieur ou par courrier recommandé, pour que vous receviez une preuve de livraison sous la forme du relevé de transmission ou du reçu de la poste. N'oubliez pas de conserver le relevé de transmission par télécopieur ou le reçu d'un envoi recommandé pour vos dossiers. Si vous découvrez que vous avez manqué un délai, il serait préférable que vous vous adressiez à un représentant qualifié le plus tôt possible. Le TASPAAT a le pouvoir de prolonger les délais.

Le TASPAAT vous informera du non-respect du délai par une lettre expliquant que l'Avis d'appel a été reçu tardivement et que vous avez la possibilité de déposer une demande de prolongation auprès du TASPAAT dans un délai d'un mois. Dans cette demande, vous devrez indiquer, par écrit, les raisons pour lesquelles vous demandez la prolongation du délai. Pour obtenir des renseignements généraux sur la préparation des plaidoiries, veuillez consulter la feuille-info du BCT intitulée Plaidoirie.

 

Quels facteurs le TASPAAT prend-il en considération dans une demande de prolongation de délai?

Pour décider s'il y a lieu ou non d'accorder la prolongation du délai, le TASPAAT examine les facteurs qui sont énumérés dans la directive de pratique de la CSPAAT concernant les demandes de prolongation des délais, notamment :

  • Les motifs que vous présentez pour expliquer votre retard dans le dépôt de l'Avis d'appel. 

  • L'existence d'une preuve que l'appel a été déposé plus tôt (par exemple, un relevé de transmission par télécopieur ou une lettre portant l'estampillage de la date qui confirme le dépôt de l'appel à une date antérieure).

  • L'existence d'une preuve que vous avez essayé d'interjeter appel avant l'expiration du délai de six mois. Par exemple, si vous avez envoyé par erreur l'Avis d'appel à la CSPAAT ou lieu du TASPAAT, si vous avez essayé de parler à un représentant au sujet de votre contestation ou si vous avez appelé le TASPAAT pour obtenir des renseignements, ou toute autre démarche démontrant que vous aviez l'intention de faire appel.

  • L'existence de circonstances inhabituelles qui vous ont empêché(e) de prendre connaissance du délai (par exemple, vous ne lisez pas l'anglais). Si vous ne connaissiez pas le délai, vous devez expliquer pourquoi. Depuis le 1er janvier 1998, la CSPAAT affiche les délais sur la page de couverture de toutes les décisions définitives. Vous êtes donc censé(e) connaître les délais.

  • L'existence de circonstances inhabituelles qui vous ont empêché(e) de respecter le délai. Il peut s'agir de n'importe quel événement inhabituel qui explique le retard. Par exemple, une maladie grave ou un problème de famille.

  • L'existence de retards inhabituels ou d'autres affaires de la CSPAAT qui ont une incidence sur la date limite de dépôt de la contestation. Par exemple, un retard important dans la réception de la décision définitive de la CSPAAT.

  • L'existence d'une demande de réexamen déposée à la CSPAAT au sujet de la décision que vous contestez, en particulier toute demande de réexamen déposée dans les six mois de la date de la décision originale.

  • Les efforts déployés pour déposer l'appel dans les délais impartis.

  • La question de savoir si le dossier est ancien au point qu'il ne soit plus possible de prendre une décision raisonnable. Un dossier ancien est celui qui date de si longtemps que la mémoire des témoins s'estompe. Il faut prouver que ce n'est pas le cas de votre dossier. 

  • La question de savoir si la question que vous contestez est si étroitement liée à une autre contestation (déposée dans le délai imparti) que le TASPAAT ne peut raisonnablement pas trancher l'autre contestation sans examiner celle qui a été déposée en retard. 

  • La question de savoir si le refus de prolonger le délai d'appel est injuste, en particulier en raison des circonstances de l'affaire. Par exemple, vous n'avez jamais eu d'audience en personne (orale) ou le commissaire aux appels vous a empêché de présenter des preuves pertinentes à votre audience. Ces facteurs pourraient constituer des raisons valables de prolongation du délai d'appel. La question de l'injustice devait se rapporter spécifiquement à votre cas. 

  • La question de savoir si le retard, causé par le non-respect du délai, rendra la plaidoirie de l'employeur plus difficile qu'elle ne l'aurait autrement été si votre contestation avait été déposée à temps. Si votre employeur ne participe pas à l'appel, vous devriez l'indiquer car ce pourrait être un signe que le retard n'aura pas d'incidence sur la cause de l'employeur.

Même si vous n'êtes pas tenu d'utiliser tous les exemples ci-dessus, il est conseillé d'utiliser tous ceux qui s'appliquent à votre cas.

 

Avez-vous d'autres documents à envoyer au TASPAAT?

Le TASPAAT ne demande pas à voir le dossier de la CSPAAT lorsqu'il examine des demandes de prolongation de délai. Pour prendre sa décision, le décideur du TASPAAT n'aura devant lui que vos observations et les documents que vous avez fait parvenir au TASPAAT. Il est très important que vous envoyiez tous les éléments de preuve pertinents avec vos observations (p. ex., des copies de lettres ou de documents qui étayent vos arguments).

 

Que se passe-t-il ensuite?

Le TASPAAT fera parvenir des copies de vos observations et éléments de preuve à l'autre partie à la contestation. Il s'agit généralement de l'employeur au moment de l'accident. L'autre partie aura ensuite un mois pour déposer ses propres observations et éléments de preuve auprès du TASPAAT. Le TASPAAT vous enverra une copie des observations et des preuves de l'autre partie dès qu'elles sont disponibles. Tous les documents seront ensuite soumis à un vice-président qui prendra une décision. Vous recevrez une copie écrite de la décision par la poste. Si la décision est en votre faveur, vous pourrez poursuivre la procédure de contestation normalement.

 

Que faire si le TASPAAT refuse de prolonger le délai?

Si le TASPAAT refuse de prolonger le délai de contestation, vous pouvez demander le réexamen de cette décision. Il y a lieu de souligner que les décideurs du TASPAAT changent rarement une décision en réexamen. Ne demandez le réexamen que si vous disposez d'éléments de preuve nouveaux qui vous semblent importants. Par exemple : vous avez soudainement trouvé un relevé de transmission par télécopieur indiquant que vous avez télécopié votre Avis d'appel dans les délais. Les nouveaux éléments de preuve doivent être d'une importance considérable. Si vous avez l'intention de demander le réexamen de la décision, veuillez en parler avec un représentant qualifié le plus plus tôt possible.

 

février 2008

Informations importantes

Cette publication ne renferme que des renseignements généraux. Elle ne constitue pas des conseils juridiques pour une situation particulière et ne vise pas à remplacer les conseils d'un représentant qualifié. Cette publication a été mise à jour à la date de révision indiquée ci-dessus.