Benefit-Related Debts/Overpayments

 

​This information applies to Benefit-Related Debts created on or after May 1, 1998. For Benefit-Related Debts created in prior periods, different rules may apply.

 

What Is a Benefit-Related Debt?

A benefit-related debt is any payment made by the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB) that exceeds the amount to which a person is entitled. Benefit-related debts were previously called "overpayments". Both terms refer to the same thing.

 

When Will WSIB Pursue Recovery of a Benefit-Related Debt?

WSIB will pursue full recovery of a benefit-related debt in the following situations:

  • WSIB has paid benefits for a time period for which you also received earnings from employment. 

  • You experience a "material change in circumstances" that affects your entitlement to benefits or services from WSIB. See Material Change in Circumstances

  • You have provided false or misleading statements or other information to WSIB in an attempt to obtain payments unlawfully. 

  • A debt results from an administrative error and you knew or reasonably should have known that the payment exceeded the amount of benefits you were entitled to receive.

 

When Will WSIB Not Pursue Recovery of a Benefit-Related Debt?

WSIB will not pursue recovery of a benefit-related debt in the following situations:

  • Where the debt results from WSIB changing a previous decision on reconsideration or appeal. This may be due to the original decision not being consistent with legislation or approved policy, or because new evidence changes the decision. 

  • A debt results from an administrative error and you could not have reasonably been aware of the error. Errors may include: 

    • miscalculation and mathematical errors

    • authorizing and issuing duplicate payments

    • inaccurate data entry 

  • WSIB has not notified you in writing of the debt within three years of the date the debt is considered due and owing. This "three-year rule" does not apply if the debt results from failure to notify WSIB of a material change in circumstances, or from fraud or false or misleading statements. 

  • If you can show WSIB that recovery of the debt will result in financial hardship, WSIB may eliminate all or part of the debt. This policy regarding financial hardship does not apply if the debt results from failure to notify WSIB of a material change in circumstances, or from fraud or false or misleading statements.

 

How Can You Prove Financial Hardship? 

WSIB may exercise its discretion to reduce or eliminate a benefit-related debt in cases of severe, long-term financial hardship where the failure to reduce or eliminate a debt will compromise a person's ability to maintain the necessities of life; for example, food, shelter, or transportation to work. Factors that WSIB will consider include the following:

  • employment status, employment security, earning capacity

  • clinical restrictions, which may prevent you from increasing employment earnings

  • opportunities for re-employment, if you are not currently employed

  • personal and vocational characteristics (e.g., your level of education)

  • assets (e.g., automobile, property, home)

  • current source of income (e.g., welfare, Employment Insurance Benefits, WSIB benefits, CPP benefits, pensions, rental property income, investments)

  • current expenses (e.g., rent, mortgage payments, car payments, family support, child care)

  • available statements from a financial/credit counselling agency, and

  • whether you have declared bankruptcy, are in the course of bankruptcy proceedings, or have had a discharge in personal bankruptcy

 

How Will WSIB Recover a Benefit-Related Debt?

If you receive future benefits from WSIB, such as future economic loss payments, non-economic loss payments or loss of earnings benefits, then WSIB will deduct at least 20% of the amount from such payments. If there is evidence that an increased deduction will not interfere with your ability to maintain ongoing expenses such as food, mortgage or housing, and insurance premiums, the deduction may be increased up to a maximum of 100%.

WSIB will fully recover debts through deduction from lump sum payments, unless doing so would threaten your ability to maintain your residence, perform work or maintain a livelihood.

WSIB may start a court action to recover the debt.

 

Can You Negotiate a Payment Plan?

Yes. Whether or not you expect to receive future payments from WSIB, you may negotiate repayment arrangements. If you are not expecting future payments from WSIB, it is anticipated that payment of the benefit-related debt will be made out of your personal funds.

 

Can You Appeal a Decision Regarding a Benefit-Related Debt?

For debts resulting from payments made on or after January 1, 1997, you do not have a right to appeal the WSIB decision to an Appeals Resolution Officer (ARO) nor to the Workplace Safety and Insurance Appeals Tribunal (WSIAT).

However, if you believe that WSIB's decision regarding the creation of a benefit-related debt; the amount of the debt; or the way it will be recovered; is incorrect, you may ask for a reconsideration from the person who made the decision.

 

June 2005

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

This publication contains general information only. It is not legal advice about a particular situation and is not intended to replace advice from a qualified representative. This publication was last updated on the revision date listed above.

Dettes/trop-payés liés à des prestations

 

​Cette information s'appliquent aux dettes liées à des prestations produites depuis le 1er mai 1998. En ce qui concerne les dettes liées à des prestations produites au cours de périodes antérieures, des règles différentes peuvent s'appliquer.

 

Qu'est ce qu'une dette liée à des prestations?

Par « dette liée à des prestations », on entend tout paiement effectué par la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT) dont le montant dépasse celui des prestations auxquelles a droit la personne. Auparavant, on désignait une dette liée à des prestations par le terme « trop-payé ». Les deux termes sont synonymes.

 

Quand la CSPAAT exige-t-elle le remboursement d'une dette liée à des prestations?

La CSPAAT exige le remboursement intégral d'une dette liée à des prestations dans les situations suivantes :

  • La CSPAAT vous a versé des prestations pendant une période où vous touchiez des gains d'emploi. 

  • Vous avez connu un « Changement important dans les circonstances » qui modifie votre admissibilité à des prestations ou services de la CSPAAT. Voir Changement important dans les circonstances

  • Vous avez transmis à la CSPAAT une assertion, une déclaration ou des renseignements faux ou trompeurs en vue d'obtenir des prestations illégalement. 

  • Il y a eu erreur de traitement : vous saviez ou auriez raisonnablement dû savoir que le montant du paiement dépassait celui des prestations auxquelles vous aviez droit.

 

Quand la CSPAAT n'exige-t-elle pas le remboursement d'une dette liée à des prestations?

La CSPAAT n'exige pas le remboursement d'une dette liée à des prestations dans les situations suivantes :

  • La dette résulte de l'annulation ou de la modification d'une décision antérieure, à la suite d'un réexamen ou d'un appel. Ce changement peut être dû à une incompatibilité entre la décision initiale et la loi ou une politique approuvée, ou à la réception de nouveaux éléments de preuve. 

  • La dette résulte d'une erreur de traitement, dont vous ne pouviez raisonnablement être au courant. Ce type d'erreur peut comprendre : 

    • une erreur de calcul ou une erreur mathématique;

    • l'autorisation et l'émission de paiements en double;

    • une saisie de données inexactes. 

  • La CSPAAT ne vous a pas informé par écrit de l'existence de la dette dans les trois ans suivant la date où celle-ci est considérée comme exigible par la CSPAAT. Cette « règle des trois ans » ne s'applique pas si la dette résulte du défaut d'informer la CSPAAT d'un Changement important dans les circonstances, d'un acte frauduleux et/ou d'une assertion ou d'une déclaration fausse ou trompeuse. 

  • Si vous pouvez démontrer que le remboursement de la dette vous occasionnerait de graves difficultés financières à long terme, la CSPAAT peut vous faire grâce de la totalité ou d'une partie de la dette. Cette politique touchant les difficultés financières ne s'applique pas si la dette résulte du défaut d'informer la CSPAAT d'un Changement important dans les circonstances, d'un acte frauduleux et/ou d'une assertion ou d'une déclaration fausse ou trompeuse.

 

Comment pouvez-vous prouver l'existence de difficultés financières?

En présence de graves difficultés financières à long terme, la CSPAAT peut, à sa discrétion, réduire le montant de la dette ou faire grâce de celui-ci lorsque, à défaut de le faire, la capacité du débiteur de satisfaire aux besoins essentiels de la vie, p. ex. se nourrir, se loger, se rendre au travail, serait compromise. Les facteurs dont tient compte la CSPAAT comprennent les suivants :

  • situation professionnelle; sécurité d'emploi; capacité de gain; 

  • restrictions cliniques pouvant vous empêcher d'accroître vos revenus d'emploi; 

  • possibilités de réemploi si vous ne travaillez pas à ce moment-là; 

  • caractéristiques personnelles et professionnelles (p. ex. votre degré d'instruction); 

  • biens (p. ex. voiture, terrain, maison); 

  • source de revenu actuelle (p. ex. prestations au titre de l'aide sociale, de l'assurance-emploi, du Régime de pensions du Canada, du Régime des rentes du Québec, de la CSPAAT, pensions, revenu tiré d'un bien locatif, placements); 

  • dépenses courantes (p. ex. loyer, versements hypothécaires, mensualités de prêt-automobile, obligations alimentaires envers la famille, frais de garde d'enfants); 

  • déclaration provenant de services de consultation en matière de crédit ou de finances; 

  • renseignements indiquant que vous avez déclaré faillite, que vous avez entrepris une procédure de faillite ou qu'une libération de faillite personnelle a été prononcée à votre endroit.

 

Comment la CSPAAT procède-t-elle pour le recouvrement d'une dette liée à des prestations?

Si, à l'avenir, vous devez recevoir des paiements d'indemnisation périodiques de la CSPAAT, par exemple des versements pour perte économique future ou pour perte non financière, ou des prestations pour perte de gains, la CSPAAT peut déduire un montant équivalant à au moins 20 % de ces paiements. Si des renseignements indiquent que l'augmentation du pourcentage de déduction ne compromettrait pas votre capacité de satisfaire à vos obligations mensuelles courantes, telles que l'achat de nourriture, le paiement du loyer ou des frais d'hypothèque et le règlement des primes d'assurance, la CSPAAT peut augmenter le pourcentage de la déduction s'appliquant aux paiements périodiques jusqu'à concurrence de 100 %.

La CSPAAT recouvrera le montant intégral de la dette de tout montant forfaitaire, sauf lorsque le recours à une telle mesure nuirait à votre capacité de subvenir à vos obligations en matière de subsistance, de logement ou de travail.

La CSPAAT peut entamer des poursuites judiciaires en vue de recouvrer le montant de la dette.

 

Est-il possible de négocier un mode de remboursement?

Oui. Vous pouvez négocier un mode de remboursement avec la CSPAAT, peu importe que vous deviez ou non en recevoir des paiements d'indemnisation. Si vous ne devez pas recevoir de paiements d'indemnisation de la CSPAAT, la dette liée à des prestations sera remboursée au moyen de fonds personnels.

 

Pouvez-vous en appeler d'une décision touchant une dette liée à des prestations?

Lorsque la dette résulte d'un paiement effectué depuis le 1er janvier 1997, vous ne pouvez pas en appeler de la décision de la CSPAAT auprès d'un commissaire aux appels ni du Tribunal d'appel de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail(TASPAAT).

Cependant, si vous êtes d'avis que la CSPAAT a rendu une décision erronée touchant la production d'une dette liée à des prestations, le montant de la dette ou son mode de recouvrement, vous pouvez en demander le réexamen à la personne qui a rendu la décision.

 

juin 2005

Informations importantes

Cette publication ne renferme que des renseignements généraux. Elle ne constitue pas des conseils juridiques pour une situation particulière et ne vise pas à remplacer les conseils d'un représentant qualifié. Cette publication a été mise à jour à la date de révision indiquée ci-dessus.