Appeals

 

If you disagree with a decision in your workplace insurance claim, you can ask a different decision-maker to review the decision and decide whether it is correct. This review process is called an appeal.

There are two separate organizations that make decisions and decide appeals in workplace insurance claims. They are: 

  • the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB)

  • the Workplace Safety and Insurance Appeals Tribunal (WSIAT) 

If you disagree with a decision in your claim, you must first appeal it within the WSIB to an internal branch called the Appeals Services Division (ASD).  If you disagree with the decision made by the WSIB Appeals Services Division, you can appeal that decision to the WSIAT.   

The Office of the Worker Adviser (OWA) helps non-unionized workers and their survivors with the appeals process and provides representation services at both the WSIB and the WSIAT. The OWA can also help identify appropriate appeal forms and provide advice about meeting time limits. For more information on accessing OWA services, see Getting Help from the OWA.

 

Overview of the Appeals Process 

The chart below is a basic overview of the workplace insurance appeals process:

            WSIB Operating Level 

The Operating Level includes the front-line decision-makers at the WSIB. The initial decisions in a claim are usually made by WSIB staff at this level, including Eligibility Adjudicators, Case Managers, Return to Work Specialists and Work Transition Specialists. If you disagree with a decision of the Operating Level, you can appeal it to the WSIB’s Appeals Services Division.

 

            WSIB Appeals Services Division 

Decisions of the Appeals Services Division are usually made by Appeals Resolution Officers (ARO). The appeal process includes either a written or an oral hearing.  After the ARO has reviewed the file material and considered any submissions, he or she will prepare a written decision explaining the result of the appeal. An ARO decision is generally considered the final decision of the WSIB.

For more information, see Appeals at the WSIB. 

If you disagree with an ARO decision, you can appeal it to the WSIAT.

 

          Workplace Safety and Insurance Tribunal (WSIAT) 

The WSIAT is an independent organization and is separate from the WSIB. The WSIAT is the final level of appeal for workplace insurance matters. Decisions of the WSIAT are made by a single Vice-Chair or a three-person panel.  Appeals to the WSIAT often include an oral hearing, but may be dealt with through written submissions alone. For more information, see Appeals at the WSIAT. 

In rare circumstances, decisions of the WSIAT may be judicially reviewed by the Ontario Superior Court of Justice, Divisional Court. The OWA does not usually assist with judicial review applications of WSIAT decisions.

 

Time Limits

There are strict time limits to appeal any decisions of the WSIB. Most Operating Level decisions must be appealed within six months.  For decisions about return to work, labour market re-entry or work transition, appeals must be submitted within 30 days 

There are also strict time limits for appealing to the WSIAT. Final decisions of the WSIB (usually ARO decisions) must be appealed to the WSIAT within six months. 

If you disagree with a WSIB decision and are not sure about the deadline to appeal, you should carefully check the decision letter you were sent. If you are still unsure of the deadline for appealing, you should seek help from a qualified representative and/or send in the proper appeal form as soon as possible.    

If you have missed the time limit to appeal a decision, you can still file an appeal and request an extension of the time limit.  For information on time limit extension requests at the WSIB and the WSIAT, please see 

Appeal Time Limit Extensions: WSIB

Appeal Time Limit Extensions: WSIAT

 

Filing an Appeal

In order to appeal a WSIB decision, you must complete and send the proper appeal form.  The form you need to fill out and send is different for each level of appeal.

 

​Decision of

​Appeal to

​Form

​Send Form to

​Operating Level

(front-line decision makers)

Appeals Services Devision

Intent to Object Form

​WSIB

​Appeals Services Division

(ARO decision)

​WSIAT

Notice of Appeal Form

​WSIAT

 

 
If you are planning to have a representative assist you with your appeal, it is a good idea to contact them before you submit an appeal form to the WSIB or the WSIAT.
 

Submission and Hearing Tips 

The OWA has prepared general information on oral submissions, written submissions and what to do at a hearing. These resources will give you an idea of what will be expected of you during the appeals process. For more information and tips, see: 

Submissions

Hearing Tips

 

Benefit Related Debts/Overpayments 

Sometimes the WSIB will decide that it has made an error in calculating benefits and has paid out too much money to a worker. For information on what to do in this situation, please see Benefit Related Debts/Overpayments.

 

February 2013

IMPORTANT INFORMATION
 
This publication contains general information only. It is not legal advice about a particular situation and is not intended to replace advice from a qualified representative. This publication was last updated on the revision date listed above.

Appels

 

Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord avec une décision prise sur votre demande de prestations d'assurance contre les accidents au travail, vous pouvez demander qu'un autre décideur examine la décision et décide si elle est correcte ou non. Ce processus d'examen s'appelle une contestation ou un appel.    

Il y a deux organismes distincts qui prennent des décisions et tranchent des contestations dans des dossiers de prestations d'assurance contre les accidents au travail : 

  • La Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT)

  • Le Tribunal d'appel de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail (TASPAAT) 

Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord avec une décision prise sur votre demande, vous devez d'abord la contester auprès d'une division de la CSPAAT, la Division des services d'appel. Si vous n'êtes pas d'accord avec une décision prise par cette Division, vous pouvez interjeter appel au TASPAAT. 

Le Bureau des conseillers des travailleurs (BCT) aide les travailleurs non syndiqués et leurs survivants à déposer leurs appels et contestations, et leur fournit des services de représentation au niveau de la CSPAAT et au niveau du TSPAAT. Le BCT peut aussi déterminer les formulaires applicables et fournir des conseils sur les délais à respecter. Pour plus d'information sur les services du BCT, voir Comment obtenir l'aide du Bureau des conseillers des travailleurs. 

 

Aperçu du processus de contestation

Le tableau ci-dessous explique les étapes du processus de contestation :

Un guide visuel pour le processus de contestation.

Niveau opérationnel de la CSPAAT

 Le niveau opérationnel comprend les décideurs de première ligne à la CSPAAT. Les décisions initiales dans une demande sont généralement prises par le personnel de la CSPAAT à ce niveau, notamment les agents à l’admissibilité, les gestionnaires de cas, les spécialistes du retour au travail et les spécialistes de la transition professionnelle.

 
Si vous n’êtes pas d’accord avec une décision du niveau opérationnel, vous pouvez la contester auprès de la Division des services d’appel de la CSPAAT.
 

Division des services d'appel de la CSPAAT

Les décisions de la Division des services d'appel sont généralement prises par un commissaire aux appels. L'audience se tient soit par écrit soit par oral. Après que le commissaire aux appels a examiné les documents contenus dans le dossier et les observations, il prépare une décision écrite expliquant le résultat de la contestation. Sa décision est généralement considérée comme la décision définitive de la CSPAAT.

Les décisions concernant la méthode de règlement (c.-à-d. audience par écrit ou audience orale) et les cas où le délai d’appel n’a pas été respecté sont prises par les greffiers des appels. Pour plus d'information, voir Appel à la CSPAAT. 

À l’exception des décisions touchant la méthode de règlement, vous pouvez contester une décision avec laquelle vous n’êtes pas d’accord à la Division des services d’appel et, le cas échéant, au TASPAAT.
 
Tribunal d'appel de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail (TASPAAT)

Le TASPAAT est un organisme indépendant et distinct de la CSPAAT. Il est le dernier niveau de contestation pour les questions d’assurance contre les accidents du travail. Les décisions du TASPAAT sont rendues par un vice-président ou un comité d’audition de trois personnes. Les appels au TASPAAT sont souvent entendus dans le cadre d’une audience orale, mais ils peuvent aussi être tranchés au moyen d’observations écrites seulement. Pour plus d'information, voir Appel au TASPAAT.  

Dans de rares circonstances, les décisions du TASPAAT peuvent faire l’objet d’un réexamen ou encore d’une révision judiciaire. Le TASPAAT peut décider, à son gré, de procéder à un réexamen si le critère préliminaire est rempli. Les révisions judiciaires sont effectuées par la Cour divisionnaire de la Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario. Le BCT peut examiner une décision du TASPAAT afin de déterminer s’il y a des chances raisonnables que le critère préliminaire extrêmement exigeant applicable aux réexamens soit rempli. En général, le BCT ne fournit pas d’aide pour les demandes de révision judiciaire des décisions du TASPAAT.

Délais 

Il y a des délais stricts pour contester des décisions de la CSPAAT. La plupart des décisions du niveau opérationnel doivent être contestées dans un délai de six mois. Dans le cas des décisions portant sur le retour au travail, la réintégration au marché du travail ou la transition professionnelle, le délai de contestation est de trente jours.
 

Il existe aussi des délais stricts pour les appels au TASPAAT. Les décisions définitives de la CSPAAT (prises normalement par les commissaires aux appels) doivent être contestées au TASPAAT dans un délai de six mois 

Si vous n’êtes pas d’accord avec une décision de la CSPAAT et que vous ne connaissez pas le délai de contestation, lisez attentivement la lettre vous informant de la décision de la CSPAAT. Si vous n’y trouvez pas de réponse, communiquez avec un représentant qualifié et envoyez dès que possible le formulaire de contestation approprié.   

Si vous avez dépassé le délai imparti, vous pouvez quand même déposer votre contestation et demander une prolongation de délai. Pour des renseignements sur les demandes de prolongation des délais à la CSPAAT et au TASPAAT, voir :

Prolongation des délais à la CSPAAT

Prolongation des délais au TASPAAT

 

Dépôt d'une contestation 

Pour contester une décision de la CSPAAT, vous devez remplir et envoyer le formulaire de contestation approprié. Ce formulaire est différent pour chaque niveau de contestation.

  

​Décision Appel à​ Formulaire​ Destinataire​

Niveau opérationnel

(décideurs de première ligne)

​Division des services d'appel

Intention de contester​

CSPAAT

Division des services d'appel

(décision du commissaire aux appels)​

TASPAAT​

Avis d'appel

TASPAAT​

 

Même si vous avez l’intention de demander l’aide d’un représentant, il est important de respecter le délai d’appel.

 

Plaidoirie et conseils sur l'audience  

Le BCT a élaboré des documents généraux sur les plaidoiries orales, les plaidoiries écrites et le déroulement de l’audience. Ces ressources vous donneront un aperçu de ce que vous devez faire pendant le processus de contestation. Pour plus d’information, voir :

Plaidoirie

Conseils à suivre lors d'une audience

 

Dettes de prestations/Paiements excédentaires 

Parfois, la CSPAAT découvre qu'elle a fait une erreur en calculant les prestations et qu'elle a versé trop d'argent à un travailleur. Pour des renseignements sur ce qu'il faut faire dans cette situation, voir Dettes/trop-payés liés à des prestations.

 

 

 septembre 2017

Informations importantes
 
Cette publication ne renferme que des renseignements généraux. Elle ne constitue pas des conseils juridiques pour une situation particulière et ne vise pas à remplacer les conseils d'un représentant qualifié. Cette publication a été mise à jour à la date de révision indiquée ci-dessus.