Clothing Allowance

 

​What Is a Clothing Allowance?

A clothing allowance is money paid by the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB) to replace clothing damaged by a brace, prosthesis, or other device worn for a work-related injury.

When Can You Get a Clothing Allowance?

  • You must already be getting a permanent disability pension or a non-economic loss (NEL) award.

  • Before you can get a clothing allowance, you must wear a prosthetic or orthotic device for one full year after the permanent pension or NEL is awarded. WSIB must authorize or supply the device.

  • In most cases, you must apply for a new clothing allowance every year.

How Do You Apply for a Clothing Allowance?

You can write a letter to your Case Manager. The letter should state:

  • that WSIB authorized or supplied the device,

  • that you have worn the device for a full year since receiving your pension or NEL award,

  • the number of hours you wear or use the device on a daily basis,

  • how wearing the device causes damage to your clothing.

You can also call WSIB and request that a clothing allowance application form be sent to you by mail. You will need to complete the form and return it to WSIB.

Do You Re-apply for a Clothing Allowance Every Year?

After you are approved for the first clothing allowance, you must usually apply for a new clothing allowance every year. If you are severely injured, you may not need to apply for a clothing allowance every year if you can show your need for the device will probably not change.

When completing the WSIB application form, you must include the number of hours you continually wear the device as well as explain any damage caused to your clothing by wearing the device. Along with the application form, WSIB will require a letter from your treating health professional. Your treating health professional may be your family doctor, chiropractor, or other specialist. In some cases, WSIB may insist that the letter come from your specialist. The letter should include the medical findings supporting your need for the device as well as confirm you are wearing the device for the prescribed period of time (entitlement criteria).

Exceptions may be made in the entitlement criteria for workers who began using the device prior to November 1, 1996 and continue to be dependent on the device. Such workers must also re-apply for their clothing allowances every year. WSIB requires a letter from the treating health professional authorizing the continued use of the device. In some cases, WSIB may recommend other types of treatment to reduce the need for the device.

What Happens Next?

Your Case Manager, along with WSIB doctors, will decide if you qualify for a clothing allowance. The amount of the allowance will depend on the type of device used and the number of hours you use the device each week.

What Is The Maximum Amount Paid As a Clothing Allowance?

WSIB may pay a maximum clothing allowance of $590.40 per year where a worker is wearing a device known to cause major damage to clothing, and up to $295.20 per year for devices that cause minor damage to clothing. These amounts are partially indexed for inflation.

Can You Receive More Than One Clothing Allowance at a Time?

Yes. WSIB may allow up to two clothing allowances to be paid to a worker each year. However, a worker is allowed only one clothing allowance for an upper body device and one clothing allowance for a lower body device per year.

What Is a Partial Clothing Allowance?

WSIB may approve a partial clothing allowance for workers who use their devices part-time, or for workers who are provided with uniforms or work garments free of charge.

Can You Object if WSIB Denies a Clothing Allowance?

Yes. If WSIB denies a clothing allowance, then you can object within the time limits. Because appeals involving clothing allowances are usually quite straightforward, you may wish to pursue them on your own. You should collect the information suggested above and submit it to WSIB. Please see Appeals at the WSIB for guidance.

June 2010

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

This publication contains general information only. It is not legal advice about a particular situation and is not intended to replace advice from a qualified representative. This publication was last updated on the revision date listed above.

Allocations vestimentaire

 

​Qu'est-ce qu'une allocation vestimentaire?

L'allocation vestimentaire consiste en une somme d'argent versée par la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT) pour le remplacement des vêtements endommagés par un appareil orthopédique, une prothèse ou tout autre appareil prescrit pour une lésion résultant d'un accident de travail.

Quand pouvez-vous recevoir une allocation vestimentaire?

  • Vous devez déjà recevoir une pension d'invalidité permanente ou une indemnité pour perte non financière (IPNF).

  • Avant de pouvoir obtenir une allocation vestimentaire, il faut que vous ayez porté une prothèse ou une orthèse pendant au moins un an après avoir obtenu une pension d'indemnité permanente ou une indemnité pour IPNF. La CSPAAT doit autoriser ou fournir l'appareil.

  • Dans la plupart des cas, vous devez renouveler votre demande d'allocation vestimentaire tous les ans.

Comment présenter une demande pour l'allocation vestimentaire?

Vous pouvez écrire une lettre à votre gestionnaire de cas. Dans cette lettre vous devez indiquer :

  • que la CSPAAT a autorisé ou fourni l'appareil;

  • que vous avez porté l'appareil pendant une année complète depuis que vous recevez les prestations d'invalidité ou l'indemnité pour IPNF;

  • le nombre d'heures dans une journée pendant lesquelles vous portez ou utilisez l'appareil;

  • le genre de dommages causés par l'appareil à vos vêtements.

Vous pouvez également téléphoner à la CSPAAT pour demander qu'on vous envoie par la poste un formulaire de demande d'allocation vestimentaire que vous devrez remplir et retourner à la CSPAAT.

Faut-il renouveler la demande d'allocation vestimentaire chaque année?

Lorsque la demande d'allocation vestimentaire a été autorisée une fois, il faut généralement présenter une nouvelle demande chaque année. Si vous êtes gravement blessé, il se peut que vous n'ayez pas à renouveler annuellement votre demande, si vous pouvez démontrer que vous ne devrez probablement pas changer d'appareil.

Vous devez mentionner sur le formulaire de demande le nombre d'heures pendant lesquelles vous portez l'appareil en continuité et expliquer le genre de dommages que celui-ci cause à vos vêtements. En plus de la demande, la CSPAAT exigera une lettre de votre médecin traitant. Il peut s'agir de votre médecin de famille, d'un chiropraticien ou d'un médecin spécialiste. Dans certains cas, la CSPAAT peut exiger que la lettre soit rédigée par votre médecin spécialiste. La personne qui écrit la lettre doit attester, diagnostic à l'appui, que vous avez besoin de porter l'appareil et que vous le portez pendant le nombre d'heures prescrit (critères d'admissibilité).

Des exceptions peuvent être faites aux critères d'admissibilité dans le cas des travailleurs qui ont commencé à utiliser l'appareil avant le 1er novembre 1996 et qui en sont toujours dépendants. Ces personnes doivent elles aussi renouveler leur demande chaque année. La CSPAAT exige une lettre du médecin traitant autorisant que l'usage de l'appareil soit poursuivi. Dans certains cas, la CSPAAT peut recommander d'autres types de traitement pour diminuer la dépendance à l'égard de l'appareil.

Qu'arrive-t-il ensuite?

Le gestionnaire de cas déterminera ensuite, avec les médecins de la CSPAAT, si oui ou non vous êtes admissible à une allocation vestimentaire. Le montant de l'allocation dépendra du type d'appareil et du nombre d'heures par semaine pendant lesquelles vous l'utilisez.

Quel est le montant maximum accordé à titre d'allocation vestimentaire?

La CSPAAT peut payer un montant maximum de 590,40 $ par année à titre d'allocation vestimentaire si le travailleur porte un appareil qui endommage gravement les vêtements, et jusqu'à 295,20 $ par année si l'appareil cause des dommages mineurs aux vêtements. Ces montants font l'objet d'une indexation partielle au coût de la vie.

Pouvez-vous recevoir plus d'une allocation vestimentaire à la fois?

Oui. La CSPAAT peut vous accorder jusqu'à deux allocations vestimentaires par année. Cependant, vous n'avez droit qu'à une seule allocation vestimentaire l'an pour un appareil destiné au haut du corps et une seule pour un appareil destiné au bas du corps.

Qu'est-ce qu'une allocation vestimentaire partielle?

La CSPAAT peut accorder une allocation vestimentaire partielle aux travailleurs qui utilisent leurs appareils à temps partiel ou à ceux qui reçoivent gratuitement des uniformes ou des vêtements de travail.

Peut-on contester un refus de la CSPAAT d'accorder une allocation vestimentaire?

Oui. Si la CSPAAT refuse de vous accorder une allocation vestimentaire, vous pouvez contester cette décision dans les délais prescrits. Étant donné que les procédures d'appels concernant les traitements de chiropractie sont en général assez simples, vous pourriez les poursuivre vous-même. Vous devez recueillir et soumettre les renseignements suggérés plus haut à la CSPAAT. Pour des conseils à cet égard, veuillez consulter Appel à la CSPAAT.

Juin 2010

Informations importantes

Cette publication ne renferme que des renseignements généraux. Elle ne constitue pas des conseils juridiques pour une situation particulière et ne vise pas à remplacer les conseils d'un représentant qualifié. Cette publication a été mise à jour à la date de révision indiquée ci-dessus.