Optional Insurance

 

What is optional insurance? 

Optional insurance is workplace insurance coverage that can be purchased from the WSIB by people who are not automatically covered under the Workplace Safety and Insurance Act, 1997, (WSIA/Act). Optional insurance was previously called personal coverage. 

 

Who can apply for optional insurance? 

Four categories of people can apply to the WSIB for optional insurance: 

  • independent operators

  • sole proprietors

  • partners in a partnership

  • executive officers of a corporation   

As of January 1, 2013, people in these four categories who work in the construction industry are automatically covered under the Act. For more information about who is automatically covered by workplace insurance, see Who is Covered by the Act?

 

What happens if I buy optional insurance? 

If you buy optional insurance, you are then considered a worker under the Act and are entitled to benefits and services from the WSIB if you suffer a work-related injury or disease.  

Like other workers, you give up the right to sue.  You may want to consult your financial or legal adviser before purchasing optional insurance.  If you have questions about whether to purchase optional insurance, you can also contact the Office of the Employer Adviser at 1-800-387-0774 (toll free), (416) 327-0020 (Toronto) or visit their website 

 

How do I get optional insurance? 

To apply for optional insurance: 

  • Fill out an Optional Insurance Request/Change Form (1574A).  You can get this form on the WSIB website or you can phone WSIB toll-free at 1-800-387-0750 or (416) 344-1000 in Toronto.  This form must be signed by you or, if you are an executive officer, by an authorized officer of the company. If the form is not signed, the WSIB treats it as if there is no optional insurance in place and you would be denied benefits.  

  • Request the amount of insurance that best reflects your annual insurable earnings up to the maximum and submit proof of earnings (see below: “How Much Coverage Can You Get?”).  Benefits are based on the amount requested or your actual earnings, whichever is lower. 

  • Submit the completed form with proof of earnings to the WSIB.  The WSIB will verify the amount of coverage if and when you file a claim. 

 

How much coverage can I get? 

The WSIB determines the approved amount of insurance based upon your average earnings up to a maximum amount.  For 2013, the maximum annual insurable earnings ceiling is $83,200. 

If you have a business that has been operating for more than a year, the WSIB will calculate your annual average earnings based upon your most recent Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) income tax return or an audited financial statement of earnings.

Using the figures contained in your income tax return, the WSIB will calculate your average earnings by adding any of the following deductions to your net business income:  

  • pension plan and RRSP contributions

  • depreciation and amortization

  • charitable donations

  • expenses arising out of the use of your home or vehicle for business purposes

  • dividends from the business

  • other appropriate items.

If you have been in business for less than one year, the WSIB will set the approved amount of insurance at one-third of the maximum annual insurable earnings ceiling (which is $83,200 for 2013). 

In addition, a newly registered independent operator, sole proprietor or partner who has been in business for less than one year will be required to pay the equivalent of six months’ optional insurance premiums in advance, with any remainder of the annual insurance premiums to be paid by the next scheduled due date. 

If you are an executive officer of a corporation, average earnings are the earnings reported on the previous year’s Canada Revenue Agency income tax return.  If the employer has been in operation for less than one year, average earnings are the executive officer’s salary as stated by the employer.  These amounts are subject to the maximum annual earnings ceiling. 

 

How long does coverage last? 

Coverage lasts until either you or the WSIB cancel it in writing.  The WSIB may cancel coverage if you have an overdue balance on your account. Coverage will be cancelled on the 15th day after they send a registered letter notifying you of the cancellation. You must purchase coverage for a minimum of three months. 

 

What if my annual earnings change? 

You must inform the WSIB of any change in your annual earnings using the Optional Insurance Request/Change Form (1574A).  If your actual earnings are different from your reported earnings, the WSIB will pay benefits based on the lower of the two. 

 

Can I object to the amount of optional insurance allowed? 

Yes. If you disagree with the WSIB’s decision, you have six months to appeal. 

 

January 2013

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

This publication contains general information only. It is not legal advice about a particular situation and is not intended to replace advice from a qualified representative. This publication was last updated on the revision date listed above.

L’assurance facultative

 

Qu’est-ce que l’assurance facultative? 

L'assurance facultative est une assurance contre les accidents de travail qui peut être achetée auprès de la CSPAAT par des personnes qui ne sont pas automatiquement couvertes par la Loi de 1997 sur la sécurité professionnelle et l’assurance contre les accidents du travail (LSPAAT/la Loi). Antérieurement on désignait l’assurance facultative par l’expression « protection individuelle »). 

 

Qui peut demander l’assurance facultative? 

Quatre catégories de personnes peuvent demander l’assurance facultative à la CSPAAT : 

  • les exploitants indépendants

  • les propriétaires uniques

  • les dirigeants d’une personne morale;

  • les associés d'une société de personnes  

À compter du 1er janvier 2013, les personnes qui entrent dans ces quatre catégories et qui travaillent dans l'industrie de la construction sont automatiquement couverts par la Loi. Pour plus de renseignements sur les personnes couvertes automatiquement par l'assurance contre les accidents de travail, voir « Qui est visé par la Loi? ». 

 

Si j'achète une assurance facultative, quels en sont les effets? 

Une fois muni d’une assurance facultative, vous êtes réputé être un travailleur au sens de la Loi, et vous avez droit aux prestations et services de la CSPAAT si vous subissez une blessure au travail ou contracté une maladie professionnelle.  

Comme les autres travailleurs, vous renoncez au droit de poursuite. Vous aurez peut-être intérêt à consulter votre conseiller juridique ou financier avant de faire l’achat d’une assurance facultative. Si vous vous interrogez sur l’opportunité de cet achat, vous pouvez aussi consulter le Bureau des conseillers des employeurs (BCE), au 1 800 387‑0774 (sans frais) ou au 416 327‑0020 (Toronto). Vous pouvez également consulter le site Web du BCE. 

Comment obtenir une assurance facultative? 

Pour présenter une demande d’assurance facultative : 

  • Remplir le formulaire Demande ou modification d'assurance facultative (1574B). Télécharger ce formulaire à partir du site Web de la CSPAAT, ou en faire la demande par téléphone à la CSPAAT, au 1 800 387‑0750 (sans frais) ou au 416 344‑1000 (Toronto). Le formulaire doit être signé par vous, ou, si vous êtes un dirigeant, par le signataire autorisé de l’entreprise. Si le formulaire n’est pas signé, la CSPAAT estimera qu’il n’existe pas d’assurance facultative, et, le cas échéant, on vous en refusera les avantages. 

  • Inscrire le montant d’assurance qui correspond le mieux à vos gains annuels assurables à concurrence du maximum, et joindre une pièce justificative (voir ci-dessous la rubrique « Quel montant de protection pouvez-vous obtenir? »). Les prestations que vous obtiendrez seront fondées sur le plus bas des deux montants suivants : montant demandé ou montant de vos gains réels. 

  • Présenter le formulaire, dûment rempli et accompagné d’une pièce justificative des gains, à la CSPAAT. La CSPAAT procédera à la vérification du montant de votre protection au moment où vous déposerez une demande d’indemnisation. 

 

Quel montant de protection puis-je obtenir? 

La CSPAAT détermine le montant de protection à approuver en fonction de la moyenne de vos gains, à concurrence d’un montant maximum. Pour 2013, le plafond théorique des gains annuels assurables est de 83 200 $. 

Si vous exploitez une entreprise depuis plus d’un an, la CSPAAT établit la moyenne annuelle de vos gains en fonction de la dernière déclaration d’impôt sur le revenu que vous avez présentée à l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) ou de vos derniers états financiers vérifiés. 

En prenant pour base les données de votre déclaration d’impôt sur le revenu, la CSPAAT établit la moyenne de vos gains en ajoutant les retenues suivantes au montant net de votre revenu d’entreprise :  

  • régime de retraite et cotisation REER;

  • dépréciation et amortissement;

  • dons de bienfaisance;

  • frais découlant de l’utilisation de votre véhicule ou de votre domicile à des fins d’affaires;

  • dividendes d’entreprise;

  • autres éléments autorisés. 

Si vous êtes en affaires depuis moins d’un an, la CSPAAT fixe le montant d’assurance approuvé au tiers du plafond théorique de la moyenne annuelle des gains assurables (lequel s’établit à 83 200 $ pour 2013). 

De plus, le nouvel inscrit – que ce soit un exploitant indépendant, un propriétaire unique ou un associé – qui est en affaires depuis moins d’un an est tenu de verser à l’avance l’équivalent de six mois de primes d’assurance facultative, le solde des primes annuelles devant être réglé au plus tard à la prochaine date d’échéance.

Si vous êtes un dirigeant de personne morale, la moyenne de vos gains équivaut au montant des gains inscrit à la déclaration d’impôt sur le revenu que vous avez présentée à l’Agence du revenu du Canada l’année précédente. Si l’employeur est en affaires depuis moins d’un an, la moyenne de vos gains équivaut au salaire d’un dirigeant tel que déclaré par l’employeur. Ces montants sont assujettis au plafond théorique des gains annuels assurables. 

 

Quelle est la durée de la couverture? 

La protection est en place jusqu’à sa résiliation écrite, par vous-même ou par la CSPAAT. La CSPAAT pourrait annuler votre couverture si votre compte est en souffrance. Elle annulera votre couverture le 15e jour après vous avoir envoyé une lettre recommandée vous avisant de l’annulation. Vous êtes tenu d’acheter une protection de trois mois au minimum. 

 

Que faire en cas de modification de mes gains annuels? 

Vous devez informer la CSPAAT de tout changement survenu quant au montant de vos gains annuels en remplissant le formulaire Demande ou modification d'assurance facultative (1574B). Si vos gains réels diffèrent de vos gains déclarés, les prestations versées par la CSPAAT prendront pour base le montant le plus bas des deux. 

 

Puis-je contester le montant d’assurance facultative consenti? 

Oui. Si vous n’êtes pas d’accord avec la décision de la CSPAAT, vous avez six mois pour interjeter appel.

 

janvier 2013

Informations importantes

Cette publication ne renferme que des renseignements généraux. Elle ne constitue pas des conseils juridiques pour une situation particulière et ne vise pas à remplacer les conseils d'un représentant qualifié. Cette publication a été mise à jour à la date de révision indiquée ci-dessus.