Filing a WSIB Claim

 

The workplace insurance system provides benefits and services to workers who have been injured at work or who have illnesses related to work. Workplace insurance is also called workers’ compensation.

To qualify for workplace insurance benefits, you must meet the requirements set out in the Ontario law that governs workplace insurance. This law is called the Workplace Safety and Insurance Act, 1997.

How to apply for benefits

To apply for workplace insurance benefits, you must file a claim with the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB) within the time limit. The WSIB is an agency of the Ontario government that administers the workplace safety and insurance system. If you file a claim, you have the right to get a copy of your file from the WSIB.

How to File a WSIB Claim

Time Limit Extensions: Filing a Claim

Getting Your WSIB File

Types of injuries or illnesses covered

You can file a WSIB claim for most kinds of injuries and illnesses, as long as they are related to your work. If you are a spouse or dependant of someone who died as a result of a workplace injury or illness, you can file a claim for survivors’ benefits.

When to File a WSIB Claim

Types of Claims

Occupational Disease

Noise-induced Hearing Loss

Types of workers covered

Most workers are covered by the WSIB, but some are not. Some industries and some types of workers are not covered by workplace insurance. If this applies to you, you may not be eligible for WSIB benefits.

Who Is Covered by the Act?

Organizational Test for Workers

Optional Insurance

Duties of worker

Once you file a WSIB claim, the law requires you to co-operate with the WSIB and your employer. You are also required report to the WSIB any changes in your health or financial situation that could affect your right to benefits.

Duty to Co-operate

Material Change in Circumstances

Role of your employer

Your employer has the right to be involved in your claim. Your employer can appeal a decision the WSIB makes about your claim and, in some situations, can get a copy of your file.

Employers and Claims

Employer-Requested Health Examinations

February 2013

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

This publication contains general information only. It is not legal advice about a particular situation and is not intended to replace advice from a qualified representative. This publication was last updated on the revision date listed above.

Dépôt d’une demande d’indemnisation à la CSPAAT

 

Le régime d’assurance contre les accidents du travail offre des prestations et des services aux travailleurs qui ont subi une blessure ou contracté une maladie au travail. L’assurance contre les accidents du travail s’appelle aussi indemnisation des accidents du travail.

Pour être admissible à des prestations d’accident du travail, il faut remplir les exigences de la loi de l’Ontario qui régit l’assurance contre les accidents du travail, soit la Loi de 1997 sur la sécurité professionnelle et l’assurance contre les accidents du travail.

 

Comment présenter une demande d’indemnisation

Pour demander des prestations d’accident du travail, vous devez faire parvenir une demande à la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT) dans le délai prescrit. La CSPAAT est l’organisme du gouvernement de l’Ontario chargé d’administrer le régime de sécurité professionnelle et d’assurance contre les accidents du travail. Si vous présentez une demande, vous avez le droit d’obtenir une copie de votre dossier auprès de la CSPAAT.

Comment déposer une demande d’indemnisation à la CSPAAT

Prolongation des délais pour le dépôt d’une demande d’indemnisation

Obtenir votre dossier de la CSPAAT

 

Types de blessures et de maladies couvertes

Vous pouvez présenter une demande d’indemnisation à la CSPAAT pour à peu près n’importe quel type de blessure ou de maladie, à condition qu’elle soit associée à votre travail. Le conjoint et les personnes à charge d’un travailleur décédé par suite d’une blessure ou d’une maladie professionnelle peuvent quant à eux demander des prestations de survivant.

Quand déposer une demande d’indemnisation à la CSPAAT

Types de demandes d’indemnisation

Maladies professionnelles

Perte auditive causée par le bruit

 

Types de travailleurs couverts

La plupart des travailleurs sont couverts par la CSPAAT. Il y a toutefois des secteurs d’activité et des travailleurs qui ne sont pas couverts par l’assurance contre les accidents du travail. Si c’est votre cas, il se peut que vous n’ayez pas droit à des prestations de la CSPAAT.

Qui est visé par la Loi?

Le test organisationnel appliqué aux travailleurs

L’assurance facultative

 

Obligations du travailleur

À partir du moment où vous présentez une demande d’indemnisation à la CSPAAT, vous êtes tenu par la loi de collaborer avec la CSPAAT et avec votre employeur. Vous avez aussi l’obligation de signaler à la CSPAAT tout changement dans votre état de santé ou votre situation financière qui pourrait avoir une influence sur votre admissibilité à des prestations.

Obligation de collaborer

Changement important dans les circonstances

 

Rôle de l’employeur

Votre employeur a le droit d’intervenir en relation avec votre demande d’indemnisation. Il peut porter en appel une décision de la CSPAAT portant sur votre demande et, dans certains cas, obtenir une copie de votre dossier.

Les employeurs et les demandes d’indemnisation

Examen de santé demandé par l’employeur

 

février 2013

Informations importantes

Cette publication ne renferme que des renseignements généraux. Elle ne constitue pas des conseils juridiques pour une situation particulière et ne vise pas à remplacer les conseils d'un représentant qualifié. Cette publication a été mise à jour à la date de révision indiquée ci-dessus.